What’s for dinner tonight? Fish!

Ah, Sunday night. When the melancholy sets in as you anticipate your early alarm for work tomorrow morning. What better way to squash those Sunday blues than to treat yourself to some takeout? Foodler is beckoning to you – the ease, the convenience, the delicious yellow curry from Curry Thai.

But then, there’s also Trader Joes. In an effort to squash the Sunday blues in a cheaper and more productive manner, I hit up the TJs in Alewife for 3 simple ingredients: green beans, mini red potatoes, and a pound of frozen Alaskan cod. The total came to $10. Compared to the $15 minimum for Curry Thai? I’ll take it.

I’m still learning about cooking fish, so I wanted to try a new breaded fish recipe for this Alaskan cod. I knew I had a container of panko bread crumbs at home, so I put “panko breaded cod” into Google and saw a recipe for Panko Crusted Sirracha Cod and was instantly sold. I have to be careful when my spice radar goes off; Christian has a more sensitive palate and there’s no better way to ruin a lovely dinner than to have your boyfriend’s mouth aflame.  This one seemed tame enough, mixing mayo and breadcrumbs to cool the 2 tsp of sirracha in the recipe.

I meant to take photos of the prep as I went through and cooked each part of the meal, but of course I forgot once I was in the heat of the kitchen.  I did catch a Before shot of the potatoes.

20141019_182235

This is my favorite way to cook potatoes.  Wash and cut them up into about inch sized chunks. Drizzle with olive oil then season with salt, pepper, and rosemary.  Get your hands in there and toss them around so everything is evenly coated.  Then jack the oven up to 450 and cook the crap out of them.  I can mostly forget about them, so I can’t remember how long it takes – around 30 minutes.  Once they are starting to smell and you suddenly panic “OH NO!  THE POTATOES!” you should pull them out, give them a little toss, and they should be nearly perfect.  I stuck them back in for another 10 minutes at 375 (the temperature the fish cooked at) while the fish cooked.

20141019_191743

Green beans are just steamed.  I bought a bag at TJs that had them washed and prepared so all I had to do was pour them into my steamer, no prep necessary.  I don’t even season them when they are finished.  Although I will admit I dip some of them into my ketchup.

20141019_191824

For the fish recipe (see below), overall the hardest part was getting the pan fried fish out of the pan and onto the baking sheet without scraping off the panko. I recommend flipping it over in the frying pan and then once flipped over using a spatula to move it onto the baking sheet.  Other than that, it was super fast and super simple.  Christian approved of the spice level — it was just enough to have a zing without setting off any fire alarms.  I got many compliments from my eater and leg rubs from my Aoife, so this one is definitely being added to the recpie book.

20141019_192107

Recipe source: http://www.foodiewithfamily.com/2014/03/14/panko-crusted-sriracha-cod-baked/

My notes:  I didn’t use any  garnish.  For the spice lovers, a little more sirracha is nice, but actually not even necessary.

Ingredients

  • 4 cod filets, boneless and skinless
  • salt and pepper
  • 3 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 2 teaspoons sriracha
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • non-stick cooking spray or sray oil

For Garnish:

  • additional sriracha
  • thinly sliced green onions
  • toasted sesame seeds

Instructions

Preheat oven to 375°F. Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil, spritz lightly with non-stick cooking spray or spray oil. Pour the panko crumbs into a pie plate or round cake pan.

Lay the cod filets out on the prepared pan and season both sides with salt and pepper. In a small bowl, mix the mayonnaise and sriracha together until smooth. Brush it over the tops only of the cod. Take each cod filet ,working one at a time, and turn it mayonnaise side down into the panko crumbs and press lightly to help the crust adhere. Return each piece to the pan, crumb side up.

When all of the pieces have been coated, heat the butter in a frying pan over medium heat until it is fully melted and frothy. Ease the cod filets crumb side down into the hot butter and fry for 2-3 minutes, or until golden brown and crunchy. Carefully return each piece of cod to the prepared pan, crunchy crumb crust side up. Bake for 10-20 minutes, depending on the thickness of the filet, or until opaque all the way through and easily flaked with a fork. If your filet is under 1/2-inch thick, it will likely be done closer to the 10 minute mark, if thicker, closer to the 20 minute mark. The internal temperature of cod should reach 145°F to be done. Remove the pan from the oven and let rest for 3-5 minutes before plating or transferring to a serving dish.

Garnish with additional sriracha, thinly sliced green onions and toasted sesame seeds. Serve with hot cooked rice, noodles, another cooked grain like quinoa, or zoodles. This is accompanied beautifully by cucumber scallion salad.

4 comments

  1. Wow great post! Pictures, story, awesome! I also like your fix for the spice mice – extra mayo. I’ll never forget the day a friend’s mom showed me Panko. Also the color on your fish is amazing. When are we coming over for dinner?

    Like

  2. What about Mike Chicken!

    Like

    1. Add it! I there might be a good picture from the Orangenzo’S Thanksgiving ExtravaBraganza blog.

      Like

  3. That cod looks beautiful!! Definitely made my mouth water. I think passing on the $15 thai delivery in favor of fresh baked fish was a great choice! =D

    Like

Leave a Reply

